I don't want to host services (but I do)

Hello folks,

I am self-hosting enthusiast, I’ve been following Framasoft for a long while and I think the CHATONS initiative is fundamental to keep a healthy Internet and digital life.

I have been self-hosting services for a few years now, and I decided to list all the things I screwed up and others might fail at too, so CHATONS and enthusiasts can avoid doing the same mistakes when offering alternatives to hegemonic services.

The key takeaways from the article are in the conclusion:

My recommendation to most people putting services online would be: either do it for yourself only, or do it as a team with proper structure and processes. What sounds like an initiative to emancipate people could actually alienate them to you, and that is a huge responsibility.

I believe it’s important to be able to self-host, even if only to prove it’s possible to do without hegemonic services. But we need to figure out how to do decentralise services and data storage for individuals at scale. This is not just a technical problem, and while E2EE is a good starting point it’s not a silver bullet. I will expand in a further post about the role of E2EE, where it falls short, and what I think we should do as a society to improve the situation.

I’m particularly looking forward to reading your feedback regarding your experience, and I’m interested in ideas you might have when it comes to the non-technical solutions worth exploring to push back against hegemonic services.

Thanks!

https://ergaster.org/posts/2023/08/09-i-dont-want-to-host-services-but-i-do/

6 « J'aime »

Hi Thib, welcome around :blush:

I’ve stumbled on your blog post in my Mastodon feed, and I feel like you’re hitting the point, especially on the matter of high availability and the bus factor. Thank you for sharing your thoughts :slight_smile: